2.4.3. Restoring a backup

Attention!

When restoring a backup, the current content of the site or database, depending on the type of the selected backup, will be completely replaced by the data from the restored copy.

Important points:

  • Only site and database backups can be restored. You cannot restore a copy of your account, you can only download.
  • To fully return the site to its original state, you need to restore two copies: a copy of the site and a copy of its database. Copies should be as close as possible in dates.
  • If the site stores some of the data outside of its root directory, then such data must be restored manually. To do this, you can connect to one of the automatic backups of the hosting account and copy the files from there to the desired directory.
  • Restoring from a backup does not affect site settingsinstalled in the control panel.
  • Restoring backups is not available for sites that have root directory is a symlink. Files of such sites are available only in a copy of the entire hosting account. Possible solutions:
    • Place the site files so that the directory pointed to by the symlink can be specified as root, and delete the symlink itself.
    • To extract site files connect directly via FTP to the hosting account backup.
The information about the performed operations is stored for 10 days.
  1. Open the section "Backup ".
  2. Clickon "Restore backup".
  3. Select the type of backup:
    • "Database" - Replacing the current content of the database with the data from the automatic backup.
    • "Site (only files, no database)" - replacement of the current content site root directory data from an automatic backup. The database of this site is not affected.
  4. Select the name of a specific database or site:
  5. Select a suitable date from the list of available ones:
  6. Clickon "Reestablish ":
  7. Wait for the operation to complete. Recovery can take from several minutes to several hours, depending on the load on the backup server, the queue of requests on it and the amount of data being processed.

After the completion of the operation account mail and in linked Telegram account a notification will be sent.

  1. Click on the restore button in the column "Reestablish ":
  2. Check the box next to "Create backup of data before restoring?"if you want to save the current content of the site or database, and click "Continue":
  3. Wait for the operation to complete. Recovery can take from several minutes to several hours, depending on the load on the backup server, the queue of requests on it and the amount of data being processed.
Content