2.13.3.9. Website transfer to Bitrix

Bitrix has its own tools for creating a full site backup and restoring it. The instructions describe the procedure for creating an archive with a copy of the working site through its admin panel and deploying the resulting archive using the official recovery script.

  1. Open the admin panel of the site you want to transfer.
  2. Go to section "Administration → Settings → Tools → Backup → Create backup".
  3. In the tab "Options" check the box next to "Enable expert backup settings" and make sure the options are selected "Archive database", "Archive kernel" and "Archive the public part".
  4. In the tab "Backup " against "Placement of the backup" choose "in the site folder", click "Create backup" and wait for the operation to complete.
  5. Download to your PC all parts of the resulting archive in one of the following ways:
    • Through the site admin panel: go to section "Administration → Settings → Tools → Backup → Backup list", open the menu to the left of the name of the created backup and click "Download".
    • Manually: through filemanager or any FTPclient open in root directory site subdirectory bitrix/backup and download all parts of the created archive.

Before recovery:

  1. Through filemanager or any FTPclient upload created archive for hosting in root directory site.
  2. Download the official recovery script on your PC restore.php.
  3. Through filemanager or any FTPclient upload the recovery script to the hosting in root directory site.
  4. Open the site in a browser by adding to its address restore.php (example - example.com/restore.php).
  5. Step "Preparing the archive"... Click on "Next".
  6. Step "Uploading a backup"... Set the switch opposite "The archive has been uploaded to the server root folder" (the option is available only if there is an archive in the site directory), select the name of the archive and click "Next".
  7. Step "Unpacking the archive"... Wait until the unpacking of the archive is completed.
  8. Specify the data to connect to the database, click "Restore" and wait for the operation to complete:
  9. Edit the file .htaccess (if the installer says it kept the original .htaccess entitled .htaccess.restorethen you can rename it back to .htaccess and edit it):
    1. Find the following line in it:
      Options +FollowSymlinks
    2. Replace it with this:
      Options +SymLinksIfOwnerMatch
  10. Clickon "Delete local backup and service scripts".
  11. Check the site is working.
Content